Another One Bites the Dust

As many of you know, after an arduous application process and multiple interviews, I’ve been waiting for the past few months to find out if I would be accepted into the Disney College Program– an internship that would greatly help me with many of my academic and career goals while simultaenously allowing me to live my dreams.

disney1Last week, I was informed that I have not been accepted into the program.

The Bad
My first reaction wasn’t much for the books. This is the email that bore the news–

Dear Emma,

We enjoyed talking with you and sincerely appreciate your interest in the Disney College Program.

We were pleased with the amount of interest we received from students across the country wanting to participate in the Disney College Program. Your qualifications, along with those of other applicants, made our decision a challenging one. Participant selections were made after much evaluation and deliberation.

Because of the overwhelming response and limited number of opportunities available, we regret to inform you that you have not been selected to participate in our program at this time.

If you are interested in applying in the future, please visit disneycollegeprogram.com. Please note you can only apply once per recruiting season (February to April and September to November).

Best wishes in your future endeavors, and thank you again for your enthusiasm and interest for the Disney College Program.

Best regards,
Disney College Recruiting

I just kind of looked at the e-mail and thought, “Well, there’s that.” A large part of me was simply relieved to have an answer, a small part of me was indifferent, a piece of me was discouraged, and the rest of me was very overwhelmed; none of which you would have been able to tell from my facial expressions. I’ve never been very good at recieving big news whether good or bad.


The Ugly
I’m sure you can imagine that it stung a little bit when I recieved another e-mail from Disney today that was telling other people that they still have a chance to apply for the program. While others are still applying, I’ve already been told ‘no’.

Was I missing credentials? Did my tiny tattoo take me out of the running? Was it truly just down to too hard a choice? Who knows. “Not I,” said the cat.
Does this ruin some of my longer-term life plans? Yep.
Was this an incredible opportunity that would largely and positively effect my career goals and general life happiness? Yup.
Does this now leave me with a lot of decisions to make about what to do with my summer and next semester in a rather short amount of time? You bet your bottom dollar.


The Good
“21 But this I call to mind,
    and therefore I have hope:

22 The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
    his mercies never come to an end;
23 they are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.
24 ‘The Lord is my portion,’ says my soul,
    ‘therefore I will hope in him.’

25 The Lord is good to those who wait for him,
    to the soul who seeks him.
26 It is good that one should wait quietly
    for the salvation of the Lord.
27 It is good for a man that he bear
    the yoke in his youth.

28 Let him sit alone in silence
    when it is laid on him;
29 let him put his mouth in the dust—
    there may yet be hope;
30 let him give his cheek to the one who strikes,
    and let him be filled with insults.

31 For the Lord will not
    cast off forever,
32 but, though he cause grief, he will have compassion
    according to the abundance of his steadfast love;
33 for he does not afflict from his heart
    or grieve the children of men.”

140e9d6277c4f24ca847878312d4e9f3Lamentations 3:21-23

Mic drop. End there.

Just kidding, I think it would be best to explain the personable nature of the Lord’s mercies in greater detail (but on the real though, Jeremiah did summarize it pretty well in that passage from Lamentations).


The Incredibles
In this, there are 3 major types of blessings that I have received. They are incredible blessings that can only be made possible by God. Therefore I call them, “The Incredibles.”

One thing Jeremiah didn’t mention that I must mention about my situation is peace. The Lord has given me so much peace in a time that is not so peaceful. Gah. That’s so like him. (Not that I’m complaining). *instafangirling*

Not getting this internship is only one of many swerves in a seemingly straight road in my life lately, but I can confidently tell you with complete certainty that I know with all my heart that God’s plans are in action in my life and he will take care of all the uncertainties. Where am I going to live over the summer? I don’t know. Where am I going to work for the awkward two months between semesters? I don’t know. How will I figure out those things in the next few weeks? I don’t know. But he does, so it will work out. Bam.

Next things next– the peace continues…
Those of you who have been following my journey know that I also applied to be a resident advisor in the dorms next year. When I was applying for both
the RA job and the DCP, I was really nervous because I knew ahead of time that I had very slim chances of being able to do both, or at least do both successfully and continue being in school. I asked God to have his way with the job situation and seeing that I was chosen to be an RA, it looks like his way is quite clear. I have no doubt in my mind that he has big things in store for me and the girls on my floor next year because even though there were times when I clearly thought the RA position wouldn’t work out and Disney would, things went the other way, so here I am. To few people’s knowledge, I was feeling really unsettled about being an RA, knowing that I might end up having to leave the positi
on if I got the Disney internship. With our staff of 11 people and so many other well-qualified RA applicants, I hated the idea of having taken someone else’s spot in the trainings we’ve been doing if I wasn’t going to be able to follow through. Now, I can breathe easy, knowing that my commitment is true and God’s way is clear.

Another incredible thing about this situation is seeing/predicting some elements of God’s timing.

Next year will be my junior year in college. For my program, it is really important to have an internship during my junior year. However there is also a certain writing requirement thing (for lack of better word) that I have to fulfill in my junior year that can sometimes take a lot of effort and whichever semester I do the Disney program, I will have to take less classes at Biola. At this point, I definitely plan on applying for the DCP again but if I apply for next Spring, I can take the Fall to finish my writing competency requirement and take more Biola classes. Then, when I take less classes at Biola in Spring 2017, it will be a nice break from university classes before my final two semesters to follow which will help decrease the chances of burning out in school and I will still have all of my requirements taken care of, as well as a more open job market lined up for post graduation. Bam.

Sorry to ramble but I love thinking about the possibilities! Lol. You could say I’m a “glass half-full” kind of person. These are only the things that I could envision potentially happening with this timing of events. If there’s one thing I know of God, it’s that there are many more things that I don’t even see and have yet to discover about why this timing is perfect timing!

Another incredible thing (dang, so many incredible things!) about this situation is that it is a fulfillment of my goals.

“What? I thought your goal was to do the internship, not to apply and be rejected…”

Ah, so you think. If you refer back to my Fail Forward post from January when I was setting my goals, you’ll remember that one of my goals is to have a lot of failures under my belt. A multitude of failures is a great sign of a multitude of attempts at success. I have some big dreams and there is no way I will achieve them without having failed big too. Not to mention, I am already a good underdog story in the making. Next year, when I make the program (or don’t, who knows) this could develop into a great story to encourage someone else.

You’ve heard it said that “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.”
I say, “When life sucks, you let it, and rejoice in knowing that you are in the midst of so much opportunity.”

To end this post, I decided that ya’ll know just as much as I do that no matter how cliché it is, this is one of those opportune moments to quote Rocky, so you know I’m going to–

“You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward.”

Live, Learn, Love, and Leave a Legacy,

                                                              Emma

 

 

2 thoughts on “Another One Bites the Dust

  1. Love the blog post soo good… Emma another incredible thing is that your story and your post was soo encouraging to me!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

